Check Your Gas Gauge

I have “Caught the Joy”. Major Susie Erickson has been sharing the Joy of Women’s Ministries in our great Florida Division with me. Recently she and I did a road trip to the Territorial Women’s Ministries Conference attended by fellow Divisional Women’s Ministries Secretaries and Assistants. For eight hours as we drove to Atlanta, Susie and I were lost in plans for Women’s Ministries, including everything from Girlfriend Road Trips to Women’s Ministries Retreat.

Suddenly I looked down at my gas gauge and was shocked to see it was on empty. My “smart car” informed me that I had seven miles of gas left. With my worry wart personality came images of Susie and I walking miles on the interstate to a gas station and then back to my car. Susie in her usual positive attitude kept saying she didn’t wear her walking shoes, she wore her cute shoes. At the next exit I pulled off in rural Georgia only to find two closed down gas stations. And so as we drove back onto the interstate, Susie sensed my panic and heavy breathing and said, “Do you want me to pray?” “Yes, please,” I responded. And so she prayed and I drove. Finally we came to another exit that had a gas station. “Please Lord, let it have gas.” My car’s computer said I had 3 miles of gas left. “Thank You, Jesus” was our prayer of thanksgiving as I pumped gas.

At a time when Major Erickson and I were busy with The Salvation Army’s business, God suddenly got my attention to look at my gas gauge. That is so relevant to our lives. Often we are busy doing good work and suddenly God gets our attention. It might be through sickness, death, an accident or a word of prophecy spoken through a fellow Christian friend. Often we think we are doing God’s work because it is good work. But is it what God wants? Have we sought His guidance? Are we letting Him lead us or are we going our own direction?

Proverbs 3:5 & 6 tells us “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”(NIV) The Message says it like this: Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; he’s the one who will keep you on track. Don’t assume that you know it all. Run to God!

Questions for your Quiet Time

1. Has there been a time in your life when you have been busy doing “good work” and God has revealed Himself in a surprising way?

2. God is constantly speaking into our lives – through His Word, friends, circumstances. Pay attention over the next few days, journaling each day to help reveal God’s presence, and maybe even guidance, in your life.

Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go.

Written by: Major Christine Smith, Women’s Ministries Secretary of the Florida Division

Leave a Reply

