Advent – Week Two

One of my favorite Christmas movies, musicals for that matter, is White Christmas! There is something sweet, charming and transcendent about it. Bing Crosby’s warm, sensitive voice; the banter between the main characters; the dancing and the schmaltzy scenes.  Soo good!

But truly, what makes it my favorite, is the scene when Betty (Rosemary Clooney) and Bob (Bing Crosby) “just so happen” to want a late night snack at the same time. They talk and then he sings her a song to help her sleep…

When I’m worried and I can’t sleep
I count my blessings instead of sheep
And I fall asleep counting my blessings

When my bankroll is getting small
I think of when I had none at all
And I fall asleep counting my blessings

I think about a nursery and I picture curly heads
And one by one I count them as they slumber in their beds

If you’re worried and you can’t sleep
Just count your blessings instead of sheep
And you’ll fall asleep counting your blessings

Written by: Irvin Berlin

Everytime I hear this song, it helps me realize how blessed I am.  There are hard times, there are moments in your day when you might want to shut the door to the world and say, “I’m done.”  But…we must never forget how much God has blessed us in our lives!

Christmas Challenge:

Wake up tomorrow and once the fog has lifted a bit, begin to thank God for each thing, person and event that you encounter.

For example, walk to the bathroom for a warm shower, thank God for the roof over your head, the warm water, toiletries and towel you are able to use.  Start the coffee, thank God for the coffee beans and the electricity that provides the power.   Get into your car, thank God for the car, the gas to get you to work and the ability to even be driving the vehicle.  You are at work or maybe running errands, thank God for your co-workers, yes both the ones you like and the ones you do not, and the computer or iPhone that keeps you organized throughout the day.  You get the picture! You may even want to keep a running list.

When it is time to settle your mind and body in your bed, pull out your list or think back through all of the blessings you thanked God for throughout the day.  Even those moments when you were stuck in traffic, or you were cut in line at the store, those are moments you can thank God for…they guided you right to the moment you walked out of the store, saw a long-lost friend and were able to catch up.

Be mindful of what God has given you, and give praise and thanks right back to God who is so deserving of it. During this Christmas season it is so easy to get lost in the shuffle. Let this challenge bring you back to counting your blessings!

Be Blessed this Christmas Season!

Written by: Kim Touchton, Women’s Ministries Program Assistant

Leave a Reply

