Women’s Ministries Retreat – Devotional #1

Grace on the Interstate

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith–
and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God–not by works,
so that no one can boast.
Ephesians 2:8-9 NIV

I can certainly boast in Christ, but I can’t boast about my driving. There are times my foot on the pedal wants to go as fast as my heart on the highway. And lipstick should definitely not be applied while driving! On the drive home on a busy part of the Interstate here in Virginia, I almost missed my exit. I did what you are not supposed to do; I slowed down in the middle lane, almost stopping to get over to the right lane–dumb! It was definitely the wrong thing to do, but the precious driver behind me responded with grace and slowed down so I could get over. When he passed, I waved a “Thank you,” and he waved a “That’s OK,” and my heart could have floated right to heaven. My eyes actually welled up with tears. That simple act of grace caused me to worship and thank God for His amazing grace–undeserved, unsolicited, and free. God is like that man in the car every second of every day. Jesus gives us total access to God. He just doesn’t squeeze us in but opens up the way by His death on the cross and by His miraculous resurrection. The next time you’re out on the road, thank God for His grace.

The Sweet Monday devotional is written by Kim Newlen, Founder and President  www.SweetMonday.org
We are blessed to have Kim Newlen as one of guests for our upcoming Women’s Ministries Retreat April 20-22, 2012.  We will be highlighted devotionals from our guests from now until the retreat.  Keep checking back!

One thought on “Women’s Ministries Retreat – Devotional #1

Leave a Reply

