Women’s Ministries Retreat – Devotional #2

First Grade

I will never leave you nor forsake you.

Joshua 1:5b NIV

 

The LORD will keep you from all harm—he will watch over your life.

Psalm121:7 NIV

 

Remember First Grade? First Grade after half-day kindergarten is a big deal.

 

I’ll never forget walking into Mrs. Altridge’s first grade classroom while holding my mother’s hand. Seeing all the desks lined up, the big chalkboard, and the teacher’s desk at the front of the room, I was scared to death. I immediately asked my mother if she would be there when I got out. She assured me that she would and went out the classroom door into the hall. In my six-year-old mind, I thought my mother was going to stand in the hall outside the classroom door and guard me all day.

 

When Mrs. Altridge lined us all up to walk to the restroom down the hall together, and I went out the door, I burst into tears. My mother wasn’t there when I got out! My kind teacher came over and wrapped me in her arms and asked me through all my boo-hoos what was wrong. I kept saying, “My mom said she’d be here when I got out!” My teacher assured me that, after school, my mom would be there to pick me up.

 

How comforting it is to know that God, through a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, is constantly on guard and will never leave us or forsake us.

 

We can know that Christ is not down the hall—or even outside the classroom door. He is right beside us and will never leave us or forsake us!

 

The Sweet Monday devotional is written by Kim Newlen, Founder and President  www.SweetMonday.org We are blessed to have Kim Newlen as one of guests for our upcoming Women’s Ministries Retreat April 20-22, 2012.  We will be highlighted devotionals from our guests from now until the retreat.  Keep checking back!

Leave a Reply

