Women’s Ministries Retreat – Devotional #3

Bolder as I’ve Gotten Balder

 

Therefore, since we have such a hope, we are very bold.

2 Corinthians 3:12 NIV

 

Who would have ever thought that boldness would come with baldness? Certainly not me! On Good Friday in 2004, I was diagnosed with breast cancer, and, being a woman who likes to look good, I thought that joining “The Bald and the Breastless” would keep my head under the covers. I thought I would be afraid to come out and go about the days God ordained just for me.

Only because of His sweet grace in my life, I was able to push those covers back and get out of bed looking the way I did! It was so comforting to know that God is personal and knows the number of hairs on my head (and the number of hairs not on my head). And it’s comforting to know that no matter what deformities we have, inside or out, our God-given femininity does not change.

To be able to face days with big physical strikes against our appearance takes boldness and courage only He can give. We do not have it on our own. In Jesus Christ lies all our hope to smile at the future in the midst of life-altering changes. He should be our reason to get out of bed every morning looking and feeling the way we do, with or without hair. We have everything to offer those He places in our lives when we have Him! We can boldly live the hope within us! Thank you, Lord!

 

If something is holding us back, let’s find whatever accessory makes us feel like our boldest selves and go live the hope within us!

 

The Sweet Monday devotional is written by Kim Newlen, Founder and President  www.SweetMonday.org We are blessed to have Kim Newlen as one of guests for our upcoming Women’s Ministries Retreat April 20-22, 2012.  We will be highlighted devotionals from our guests from now until the retreat.  Keep checking back! 

Leave a Reply

