Women’s Ministries Retreat – Devotional #5

Sin

 

When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to

the eye and also desirable for gaining wisdom, she took some of it and ate it.

Genesis 3:6a NIV

 

Sin is a BIG PROBLEM we all have in common.  I’m wondering why this never dawned on me before and I think it’s because when I was young, I thought of sin as murder, lying, stealing, and adultery.  I didn’t think of sin as “missing the mark of perfection” and the fact that any sin puts us all in the SINNER category – big, small, seen or unseen.  Choosing our selfish way over God’s way any time is sin!

As I was preparing for this program, I was attempting to read the Bible through again in a year.  I just read Genesis 1 and 2.  It just dawned on me for the first time in the 21 years that I’ve been reading God’s word in the morning that the very first temptation was centered around FOOD!

Maybe God shed light on this matter for me personally this morning as I just ate 6 cookies for breakfast before reading my Bible.  Suddenly, I’m undone with His grace!  That God doesn’t show us ALL our weaknesses, all our sin, all our shortcomings, all our tendencies to choose what is NOT best for us – all at once!

 

We need to believe Jesus Christ died for you and me to save us from ALL of our sin!

Leave a Reply

