Dressed in Virtue – Week #2 Women’s Retreat Devotions

Week Two.

 

All right then, you’ve been chosen by God for a new life of love –

Dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you…

 

I remember distinctly the day I decided to stop wearing what my mother picked out for me to wear. She’d bought a blue jumpsuit for me and pronounced it “adorable”! That wasn’t the word that came to my mind.

I wouldn’t wear it. I couldn’t wear it. It wasn’t “me”. Of course, I didn’t know what “me” was at that time, but I was deciding very quickly what “me” wasn’t. If “me” was that blue jumpsuit, I didn’t want to be “me” anymore.

Things changed from that day forward. My mother didn’t bring home clothes for me, or go school shopping without me – but neither did she hand me money and drop me off to shop for myself. We shopped together. I learned to look at her choices and she learned to respect mine.

So when I read in Colossians that God has a wardrobe picked out for me to dress in, I get nervous. What if I don’t like it? What if it looks like that blue jumpsuit? What if what God wants me to wear isn’t “me”? Not sure I can do it.

That’s why I believe shopping with God must be different. First, God is not like our mothers – let’s get that straight right at the start. Remember, we have been chosen by God for this new life of love, so without fear of hurting God’s feelings, go ahead and step into God’s dressing room. With his love radiating from your insides, take a look at the things that God has already pulled from the rack for you to wear. Things nicer and more beautiful than you would ever have chosen for yourself. Things you could never have afforded on your own. Things that are unique to you and yet uniquely God’s. Think of it like some divine version of “Say Yes to the Dress.” When you stand in front of the mirror, wearing what has been picked out for you, it takes your breath away. It’s not, “This isn’t me, Lord.” I think it’s more like, “Wow, Lord, is this really me?”

Say Yes, not only to the dress, but to the one who made you and the dress!

 

Dos.

 

Muy bien entonces, como hemos sido elegidas por Dios para una nueva vida de amor, vistamos la vestidura que Dios escogió para nosotras. Recuerdo claramente el día que decidí dejar de usar lo que mi madre elegía para mí para que me vistiera. Había comprado un jumpsuit (yompa) azul para mí y dijo: “¡es adorable!” Esa no fue la palabra que vino a mi mente. Yo no lo usaría. Yo no podía llevarlo. No era “yo”. Por supuesto, yo no sabía lo que “yo” significaba en ese momento, pero “yo” quería decidir rápidamente lo que “yo” no era. Si “yo ” era una “yompa azul”, yo no quería ser “yo ” jamás.

Las cosas cambiaron desde ese día en adelante. Mi madre no trajo más ropa a casa para mí, o ir de compras sin mí – pero tampoco me entregaba dinero o me dejaba ir de compras para mí misma. Fuimos de compras juntas. Aprendí a mirar sus opciones y ella aprendió a respetar las mías.

Así que cuando leí en Colosenses que Dios tiene un vestuario elegido para que me vista, me pongo nerviosa. ¿Qué pasa si no me gusta? ¿Qué pasa si se parece a la yompa azul aquella? ¿Qué pasa si lo que Dios quiere que me ponga no es “yo”?. No estoy segura de que pueda hacerlo.

Por esta razón es que creo que las compras con Dios tienen que ser diferente. En primer lugar, Dios no es como nuestras madres …vamos a tomar las cosas correctas desde el comienzo.

Recuerde, nosotras hemos sido elegidas por Dios para una nueva vida de amor, así que sin temor a herir los sentimientos de Dios, sigamos adelante y entremos en el “camerino” de Dios. Con su amor que irradia de nuestro interior, echemos un vistazo a las cosas que Dios ya ha elegido del armario, para que nos vistamos con cosas más bonitas y más hermosas las cuales nunca habríamos elegido por nosotras mismas. Cosas que nunca hubiéramos podido pagar por nuestra propia cuenta. Cosas que son únicas para ti e igualmente únicas para Dios. Piensa en ello como una versión divina de “decir al vestido de boda. ¡Cuando te pones delante del espejo con el vestido que has elegido para ti, te quedas sin aliento! ¿No es así?, ¡”Esta no soy yo, Señor.”! Creo que es más como, “Wow, Señor!, ¿es ésa realmente yo?” Decir sí, no tan sólo al vestido, sino también al que te “hizo” el vestido!

Leave a Reply

